Untangling chains

Sandpaper thoughts
chip and splinter
this hollow
echo spatter, lost rhymes
collecting dust,
soft circling, stagnant, drifting

stale recollections of a past-self
been kept out in the cold too long now,
peeling like old paint,
gathering,
shelling the shredded thoughts
left unspoken,
silence the stabbing memories that flesh from the foundations,
coiling wallpaper folds over me,
fold over me,
I’m spilling all over the dry earth,
mud patches, sprouting grass,
crumbled rocks on a mosaic canvas
wrap me back together,
blood flowing, blood flooding,
hold my breath while I sink under
to recalibrate these cells into something
that resembles a whole

What do we do when our thoughts detain us,
What do we do when our thoughts detain us?
Break the chain…

I sit here wondering what your thoughts are spinning your world into today,
weaving webs and trying not to get caught in our own projections

you can be anywhere and be trapped in your own transience
the in-between of being and not being (who you once were)
tell me again who it is you want to be,
echoing through the softest wind,
in constant motion, causing commotion,
compounding holes,
disfiguring the fly-trap thought patterns

I sit here wondering what your thoughts are spinning your world into today,
weaving webs and trying not to get caught in our own projections

sometimes we’re the fly,
trying to not entrance ourselves
in the spell of pretty patterns of poisoned appeal

leap on the back of a mosquito that doesn’t give in to the yellow-green lights and supple skin

harvest honey, nestle into the flowers, look out for thorns
follow the buzz of the bee
hopscotching through honeycomb sections,
don’t stay in one place too long

What do we do when our thoughts detain us,
What do we do when our thoughts detain us?
Break the chain…

the tired beetle
makes a noose out of daisy chains
in innocent fields
tainted flowers poke out of cracked cement
spill out your brain weeds
unpick those gorse fences
all those entangling thoughts will bloom into a garden view soon

One thought on “Untangling chains

  1. Rowie

    “hold my breath while I sink under to recalibrate”

    One of many illuminating images Chloe.

    I like this piece it is real and also hopeful, and I love all of the minutiae

    Like

Leave a comment